Billie Holiday

The Incomparable, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first of five volumes on the obscure British label Acrobat, The Incomparable, Vol. 1 concentrates on the series of sides recorded by Billie Holiday at the dawn of her career, usually in front of a studio band and released on discount subsidiaries of Columbia such as Brunswick and Vocalion. Similar to Fats Waller and a handful of other musical greats occasionally forced to record subpar material, Holiday did surprisingly well considering the compositional sources, and certainly wasn't harmed by the addition of recording partners like Cozy Cole, Roy Eldridge, Artie Shaw, Ben Webster, Harry Carney, and Teddy Wilson. This disc has 20 tracks, including a few of Holiday's best performances ("What a Little Moonlight Can Do," "Billie's Blues," "Miss Brown to You") as well as a few standards ("Summertime," "The Way You Look Tonight," "A Fine Romance," "Pennies from Heaven"). Too much of this material, however, consists of dated pleasantries that even Holiday has trouble rejuvenating -- check out "Eeny Meeny Meiny Mo" or "One, Two, Button Your Shoe." Though everything she recorded will obviously be of interest to real fans, Columbia itself has collected these songs several times, with better notes and better sound.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:51 Amazon
2 2:54 Amazon
3 2:53 Amazon
4 3:05 Amazon
5 3:04 Amazon
6 2:44 Amazon
7 3:08 Amazon
8 3:03 Amazon
9 2:41 Amazon
10 2:27 Amazon
11 2:47 Amazon
12 2:30 Amazon
13 2:42 Amazon
14 2:51 Amazon
15 2:37 Amazon
16 2:59 Amazon
17 3:04 Amazon
18 2:48 Amazon
19 2:59 Amazon
20 3:03 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick