Horace Heidt

The Hits & More

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

An excellent cross-section of Heidt's most successful and highest quality work which embraces both his most sophisticated numbers and his biggest hits, beginning with "Gone with the Wind" in 1937 and ending with "Now Is the Hour," cut a decade later. Larry Cotton is the featured vocalist on eight of the 24 cuts, and shines on most of them ("The Masquerade Is Over" is worth the price of the disc all by itself for his performance); the King Sisters handle the singing on "Little Heaven of the Seven Seas"; Mary Martin shows up on the "Pound Your Table Polka" from 1942; and various ensembles do the singing elsewhere. The most charming of these is "Heigh Ho (The Dwarfs' Marching Song)," a number 12 hit that's as entertaining as the Disney movie Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, whence it came. The ensemble Donna & Her Juans, which briefly included Art Carney, appear on three songs from 1941, including "The Hut-Sut Song." The band itself is nothing to overlook -- they had a breezy, bouncy sound, best displayed on numbers like "I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You)." The sound is clean throughout, and except for a little harshness in the texture of the two earliest cuts, is surprisingly smooth and supple. The notes are reasonably thorough, and this is a satisfying collection of some of the most successful popular music of its period.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:57
2 2:59
3 2:42
4 2:56
5 2:28
6 2:50
7 2:26
8 2:59
9 2:53
10 2:36
11 2:40
12 2:50
13 2:43
14 3:12
15 2:51
16 3:20
17 2:52
19 3:16
21 3:10
22 2:48
23 3:02
24 3:08
blue highlight denotes track pick