Blind Willie McTell

The Essential

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Blind Willie McTell is unique among country bluesmen in having a 30-year recording career while remaining essentially an itinerant musician, and during his lifetime he was a familiar sight on the streets of Atlanta and other Southern cities as he performed his varied repertoire of blues, rags, and vaudeville pieces on his 12-string guitar. This two-disc collection assembles nearly 40 of his early 78s, including his signature tune, the magnificent "Statesboro Blues." Whether McTell actually wrote a lot of these songs (or merely adapted them) is unclear, but there is a sharp writer's eye at work here, as evidenced by lines like "Mother died and left me reckless/Daddy died and left me wild" (from "Statesboro Blues") or "I got the blues so bad/I can feel them in the dark" (from "Dark Night Blues"), and songs like "Dying Crapshooter's Blues" (which is based on elements from "Streets of Laredo" and "St. James Infirmary") are thoroughly modern compositions in a cut-and-paste narrative style. These recordings feature the early McTell, when his voice was a high and expressive tenor. Toward the end of his life, McTell's voice deepened and grew rougher, the songs slowed down and became more world-weary, and since he recorded his standards several times over, it is interesting to compare early and later versions of songs like "Broke Down Engine Blues." The Essential is a fine introduction to this unique bluesman, but you'll want one of the later recordings as well in order to get the full balance of his work.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:42 Amazon
2 01:56 Amazon
3 02:33 Amazon
4 02:58 Amazon
5 03:09 Amazon
6 04:37 Amazon
7 02:40 Amazon
8 03:06 Amazon
9 03:08 Amazon
10 02:49 Amazon
11 02:55 Amazon
feat: Ruth Willis
02:52 Amazon
13 02:49 Amazon
14 02:50 Amazon
15 02:40 Amazon
16 02:29 Amazon
feat: Kate McTell
02:45 Amazon
18 03:05 Amazon
19 02:18 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:39 Amazon
2 03:06 Amazon
3 02:17 Amazon
4 03:03 Amazon
5 03:11 Amazon
6 03:18 Amazon
7 02:31 Amazon
8 02:49 Amazon
feat: Kate McTell
03:10 Amazon
10 03:03 Amazon
11 02:49 Amazon
12 03:07 Amazon
feat: Kate McTell
02:43 Amazon
14 02:34 Amazon
15 03:06 Amazon
16 02:52 Amazon
17 03:12 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick