The Dynamic Superiors

The Dynamic Superiors/Pure Pleasure

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although the Dynamic Superiors recorded five albums for Motown in the mid- to late '70s, virtually everyone would agree that the most interesting of these were the first two. Both were produced by Nick Ashford and Valerie Simpson, who also wrote almost all of the material. This reissue puts both albums onto one CD, adding historical liner notes, and almost serves as a best-of, their later output notwithstanding. From 1975, Dynamic Superiors has the R&B hits "Shoe Shoe Shine" and "Leave It Alone," the production usually highlighting Tony Washington's stratospherically high vocals. The self-titled debut is period mid-'70s smooth soul, accomplished but not a high point either for the genre or for Ashford and Simpson's productions. Pure Pleasure, which followed just six months later, went much more for danceable disco sounds, with "Face the Music" reaching number six on the disco chart. Often harmony-oriented soul vocal groups declined when they bowed to disco trends, but Pure Pleasure is more or less an exception to that syndrome, as Washington, the rest of the group, and Ashford & Simpson sound pretty at ease with the style. In addition, the act's strength as soul balladeers wasn't neglected, with a few cuts (such as "Feeling Mellow" and "A Better Way") emphasizing their more song-oriented sensitive side, and "Pleasure" proving they could handle an upbeat funky groove without ladling on the disco beats.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:45 SpotifyAmazon
2 03:28 SpotifyAmazon
3 03:40 SpotifyAmazon
4 03:38 SpotifyAmazon
5 03:42 SpotifyAmazon
6 03:42 SpotifyAmazon
7 04:16 SpotifyAmazon
8 02:24 SpotifyAmazon
9 04:00
10 03:26 SpotifyAmazon
11 04:52 SpotifyAmazon
12 03:39 SpotifyAmazon
13 05:30 SpotifyAmazon
14 04:13 SpotifyAmazon
15 03:10 SpotifyAmazon
16 04:09 SpotifyAmazon
17 03:41 SpotifyAmazon
18 03:06 SpotifyAmazon
19 04:16 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick