Dean Martin

The Dean Martin TV Show/Sings Songs from the Silencers

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This entry in Collectors' Choice Music's series of two-fer reissues of Dean Martin's long-out-of-print Reprise albums combines his 15th Reprise LP, The Dean Martin TV Show, with his 12th, Songs From the Silencers, both originally released in 1966. From the titles, you'd suppose that both were soundtrack efforts, the one from Martin's television series, the other from one of his movies. Actually, both are studio recordings, although they do tie into those screen efforts. The TV collection (tracks one through ten) refers to a segment on the show in which Martin would sing a traditional ballad, while the album keyed to The Silencers provides full-length versions of songs heard only in excerpts during the course of the film. For the purposes of the listener 35 years later, however, the important point about the two collections is that, unlike most of Martin's albums of the era, they both feature standards instead of the kind of country-pop with which Martin was storming the charts in those days. True, the songs from The Silencers sometimes have country-pop arrangements, but they are still evergreens. Both albums separately were skimpy; The Dean Martin TV Show had only ten tracks and Songs From the Silencers had only eight actually featuring Martin (plus four instrumentals or near-instrumentals featuring a vocal chorus). Together, they make one good standards album.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:37
2 2:02
3 2:15
4 2:31
5 2:22
6 2:09
7 2:14
8 2:42
9 2:44
10 2:31
11 2:20
12 2:22
14 3:14
15 2:33
16 2:15
17 2:41
18 2:38
19 2:34
20 2:14
21 2:34
22 2:13
blue highlight denotes track pick