Various Artists

The De La Collection, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The scholarly sample fiends at Strictly Breaks were enterprising enough to realize that a market could exist for compilations featuring tracks sampled by one particular artist. Taking the concept of the format pioneered by Ultimate Breaks and Beats one step further, the vinyl-based De La Collection assembles tracks that have been put to use by De La Soul throughout the years. (Strictly Breaks have also done the same for A Tribe Called Quest, Jay-Z, the Beatnuts, Nas, and Pete Rock.) Most selections are provided in full, while several are frustratingly reduced to a few brief (if entirely relevant) bars. The first De La Collection, originally released in 2002, contains Hall & Oates' "I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)," (as heard in "Say No Go"), Funkadelic's "(Not Just) Knee Deep" ("Me, Myself and I"), Young-Holt Unlimited's "Light My Fire" ("A Roller Skating Jam Named Saturdays"), Cymande's "Bra" ("Change in Speak"), War's "Magic Mountain" ("Potholes in My Lawn"), and Steely Dan's "Peg" ("Eye Know"). Buyer beware: the sound quality varies from track to track.