Anderson & Roe Piano Duo

The Art of Bach

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The U.S. branch of the Steinway piano firm has issued a series of piano recordings that is carefully curated so as to reflect the company's roots in the music scene of a century ago, or a bit more. This gives the label's output a satisfying coherence as well as bringing forth some intriguing individual concepts. This release by the Anderson & Roe piano duo is a representative example that might appeal to those who've had their fill of severe historical-performance approaches to Bach. It wouldn't have been strange in the 19th century to present an evening of Bach's music on two pianos, for that medium was a common one for bringing music of large dimensions into the home or a small community venue. Greg Anderson and Elizabeth Joy Roe thus capture a slice of the American musical past, but they also expand upon it creatively, which is what brings projects like this to life. They employ the talents of a variety of arrangers, including themselves, and they cover such unexpected items as the St. Matthew Passion, BWV 244, in a suite of their own devising. The result is a program that views the range of Bach's creativity under a different lens from those anybody else has used. As the graphics have it, "Where else can one find the apex of scholarly composition, The Art of Fugue, featured alongside one of the monuments of sacred music, the St. Matthew Passion?" Throw some chorales into the mix, and there will be an idea of the considerable appeal of this release, recorded at the ideally sized Concert Hall of the Performing Arts Center, Purchase College, the State University of New York.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit, BWV 106 'Actus tragicus'
1 2:30
Concerto for 2 Harpsichords in C major, BWV 1061
2 7:07 Amazon
3 5:52
4 5:04 Amazon
Saint Matthew Passion, BWV 244
5 6:08
6 1:00 Amazon
7 4:56 Amazon
8 1:02 Amazon
9 5:40
The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080
10 2:22 Amazon
11 2:17 Amazon
12 2:21 Amazon
Goldberg Variations, BWV 1087
13 3:06
Cantata, Herr Jesu Christ, wahr' Mensch und Gott, BWV 127
14 8:58
Was mir behagt, ist nur die muntre Jagd!, BWV 208 'Hunt Cantata'
15 4:48
Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048
16 5:05 Amazon
17 1:31 Amazon
18 4:19 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick