Alvaro Lopez

The Alvaro Lopez Project

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Renowned Latin drummer turned solo artist, Alvaro Lopez' first English language album, The Alvaro Lopez Project, blends Latin-flavored jazz, R&B, funk, and gospel. The Res-QBand, composed of members Gabe Terrado on guitar, Mario Patron on keyboards, with Abel Orta, Paul Garcia, and Roger Hudson providing vocals, join Lopez in creating the project's smooth, clean sound. While the release is predominately recorded in English, it also features both Spanish and instrumental tracks. The 15 songs range from upbeat, strongly jazz influenced "Life Is Short" to the contemporary, R&B seasoned "Live Without Your Love." In addition, "Lo Que Sone" features Latin beats and rhythms while "Alabare al Senor" demonstrates Lopez' talents as a seasoned drummer. Instrumental tracks on the project include "Jazz Jam" and "Smooth Jam."