Various Artists

Texas to the Bone, Vol. 4

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

As cheap as it is range-roaming, the fourth volume of Texas to the Bone follows in the footsteps of its three predecessors with a mix of the known and the unknown that exemplifies the Lone Star State. The emphasis continues to be placed on younger artists who play rock-inflected country; performers include native Texans Owen Temple ("No Daring Is Fatal"), Dub Miller ("Insanity and Texas"), Nathan Hamilton ("Shape I'm In"), Adam Carroll ("South of Town"), Slaid Cleaves ("Broke Down"), and Tommy Alverson ("Texas Woman"). The one thing that stands at odds with the theme of the series is the brevity of each volume. For a state known for its extravagance, it sure seems odd that these discs could fit twice as many songs on them without much trouble.

blue highlight denotes track pick