Holland Baroque Society / Alexis Kossenko

Telemann: Ouverture & Concerti

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Despite the extensive body of works he left behind, some of which remain unpublished, the music of Georg Philipp Telemann is generally not celebrated as much as that of his contemporary, J.S. Bach. This is a true loss to listeners who are not familiar with his music. Telemann was much more than just a composer; in fact, he held countless different positions in fields ranging from music to journalism to education and beyond. The result was a man of much world experience and breadth of experience, which translated directly into the diversity of his music. It is only appropriate then that this Channel Classics album of the Holland Baroque Society's performance of a selection of Telemann's concerti and Ouverture be directed by another broadly experienced musician: Alexis Kossenko. The result is delightful music played with an abundance of academic understanding, magnificent attention to detail, and a wealth of energy. The Holland Baroque Society attacks these little known pieces with such vigor and conviction that listeners are left wondering why Telemann's music, and these concertos in particular, is not heard more frequently. Trading between concertino and ripieno playing, balance is always perfect throughout. Although the ensemble is relatively small, it plays with an impressively round, powerful sound. Channel's recorded sound quality is likewise pleasing, present without being too close, and clear without being sterile. Those listening to the mutlichannel SACD track will enjoy an added level of spaciousness and enveloping sound. All of these components unite to make for a highly recommended album.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Ouverture in E minor, TWV 55:e3
1 07:15 Amazon
2 02:35 Amazon
3 02:26 Amazon
4 01:58 Amazon
5 02:37 Amazon
Concerto for 2 traversos, violin & cello in D major, TWV 53:D6
6 05:09 Amazon
7 05:14 Amazon
8 05:27 Amazon
9 04:29 Amazon
Concerto for recorder & bassoon in F major, TWV 52:F1
10 04:32 Amazon
11 05:52 Amazon
12 03:33 Amazon
13 03:38 Amazon
Concerto for 2 traversos, oboe & violin in B flat major, TWV 53:B2
14 01:52 Amazon
15 02:56 Amazon
16 03:20 Amazon
17 03:09 Amazon
Concerto for 2 traversos & bassoon in G major, TWV 54:G1
18 02:30 Amazon
19 02:55 Amazon
20 02:42 Amazon
21 02:50 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick