Tear Ya Down: The Rarities

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Motörhead have an overabundance of rarities in their vaults, as evidenced by the bonus tracks included on the 2001 Castle reissues of their early releases. Somehow, the group even had more rare tracks lying around, which comprise the 2002 double-disc set Tear Ya Down: The Rarities. Like most rarities sets, Tear Ya Down will only be of interest to the hardest of hardcore Motörhead fans. Case in point: quite a few of the group's best-known tracks are included here in rougher alternate takes -- "Ace of Spades," "Shoot You in the Back," "Love Me Like a Reptile," and "(We Are) The Road Crew." But these tracks are not all that much different than the definitive versions (none of which surpass them, either). But on the other hand, there are quite a few tracks here that aren't included elsewhere (or pretty darn hard to find) -- "Hump on Your Back," "Godzilla Akimbo," etc. If you already own all the Motörhead classics (Overkill through No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith) and crave some rarities from this era, Tear Ya Down is a deserving purchase. But for most fans, the aforementioned rarities included on the Castle reissues will have already satisfied their appetites.

blue highlight denotes track pick