The Elgins

Take the Train

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Known for the two minor hits "Darling Baby" and "Heaven Must Have Sent You," the Elgins get resurrected by Ian Levine. Jimmy Charles, Yvonne Vernee-Allen, and Norman McLean join sole original member Johnny Dawson for the reunion. The expected remake of "Heaven Must Have Sent You" lacks the firepower of the original, but there are many good tracks, including the bouncy "Souvenirs of Love," the title track, and "Oooh Honey Baby."