Al Hirt

Swingin' Dixie, Vol. 3

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The third in trumpeter Al Hirt's enjoyable series of Dixieland LPs for Audio Fidelity is the equal of the previous two. Hirt, trombonist Bob Havens, clarinetist Harold Cooper and pianist Ronnie Dupont all take plenty of solo space on the dozen standards. Highlights include "Original Dixieland One Step," "High Society," "Mack the Knife" and "Down by the Riverside," while "Lullaby of Birdland" offers a slight change of pace. Unfortunately, Hirt would soon branch out beyond Dixieland into less interesting (although more lucrative) areas, so his early records (such as this one) are still his best.