Enrique Berro Garcia


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Produced by Anthony Phillips, this album took five years to record, and had to wait another four years on the shelf before seeing the light of day. Enrique Berro Garcia is a very talented guitarist, with a warm touch and a delicate sensibility. His original compositions blend Spanish and Argentinean elements with Gordon Giltrap, and Phillips' kind of light, instrumental music. But Sueños presents mostly interpretations drawn from many repertoires. Garcia has a predilection for Bach, but his baroque playing is a bit stiff, except in the "Doble," gracefully rendered. More interesting are his lectures of 20th century pieces by the likes of Erik Satie (the first "Gymnopedie"), Stanley Myers (the inevitable "Cavatina"), Astor Piazzolla ("Adios Nonino"), and Maurice Ravel. The latter's "Pavane for a Dead Infanta" provides one of the finest moments on the album, its elegiac tone approached with taste and restraint. Garcia also tackles a few tunes by Steve Hackett ("Horizons," also inevitable) and Phillips himself ("Nocturne" and "Field of Eternity"). In two tracks, Garcia adds keyboard chords, pushing the music straight into lame new age. In "Cavatina," they are downright unnecessary, but this questionable artistic decision aside, the album has a nice flow, and provides a gentle, pleasant listen.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
2 3:49
3 2:11
6 4:43
8 2:06
9 3:31
10 3:29
11 2:43
12 1:39
13 3:25
14 1:27
15 5:39
blue highlight denotes track pick