Suction 001

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A generous debut from Canadian electronica label Suction, featuring six tracks (three apiece) from label proprietors Greg de Rocher (as Lowfish) and Jason Amm (as Solvent). Rushing to the Rephlex analogy might at first seem appropriate, but melodic and textural elements tracing to industrial/ebm and new wave raise the obscure-concept level a bit higher than much of the acid/electro/ambient crunch appearing on Aphex' label. Closer to the Skam/Mask/V/VM brand of dark, atmospheric ambient electro, with touches of drum'n'bass on two of the three Lowfish tracks.