Michel Tabachnik / Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra

Stravinsky: Le Sacre du printemps

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Michel Tabachnik has led the Brussels Philharmonic since 2008, and his recordings with this fine orchestra have included an assortment of works by Claude Debussy, Antonin Dvorák, Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky, and with this recording on the orchestra's own label, Igor Stravinsky. This 2013 release of Le Sacre du printemps may be the most exciting of the lot, because the energy of the live performance and the fresh sonorities the orchestra produces make this rendition one of the most electric on CD. Especially appealing is the carefully differentiated sound of the woodwinds, which have great presence in the mix and stunning clarity in all the details. But there is plenty to enjoy in the robust brass section, which has a cutting edge that brings out the complexity of the dissonances, and the percussion is wonderfully powerful and loud, creating the sensation that everything shakes with its impact. Now and then, there is some looseness in solos, where individuals tend to rush a bit, but this is a minor problem overall because the orchestra holds together with a fierce unity of purpose, as is most evident in the gripping Glorification de L'Elue. Tabachnik has chosen Stravinsky's Le Chant du rossignol to round out the program, and even though Le Sacre du printemps is a hard act to follow, this sparkling symphonic poem holds enough interest and color to keep the listener spellbound.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Le sacre du printemps
1 3:22
2 3:06
3 1:19
4 3:24
5 1:51
6 0:40
7 0:19
8 1:10
9 3:46
10 3:00
11 1:28
12 0:38
13 3:21
14 4:51
Le chant du rossignol
15 2:24
16 3:19
17 3:35
18 11:26
blue highlight denotes track pick