Svend Asmussen

Still Fiddling

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Svend Asmussen's career has unfortunately been overshadowed by phenomenal success of Stephane Grappelli. With Grappelli's death in 1997, there is no reason why this swinging violinist shouldn't achieve wider recognition, particularly with this excellent studio date. Accompanied by guitarist Jacob Fischer, bassist Jesper Lundgaard, and drummer Aage Tanggaard, Asmussen's diverse program is full of surprises. The understated treatment of "How Deep Is the Ocean" passes the solo spotlight continuously among the string players, while Fletcher Henderson's "Down South Camp Meeting," a piece pretty much overlooked since the heyday of Benny Goodman, swings like mad. A brisk "Hallelujah," powered by Tanggaard's brushwork, is easily the most adventurous track. "Sermon for Stuff," though obviously dedicated to the late violinist Stuff Smith, is a slow waltz that has a bit of a reverential air to it. The CD also ranges from Eubie Blake's "Memories of You" to classical composer Edvard Grieg's "Jeg Elsker Dig" and the Jewish melody "Shalom Elechem." Asmussen is also a delight as a composer, contributing the joyful "Silly Shuffle." Swing fans should pick up this disc without hesitation.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 03:02
2 04:39
3 05:23
4 04:18
5 02:20
6 03:41
7 03:36
8 04:06
9 02:45
10 03:30
11 03:28
12 04:05
blue highlight denotes track pick