Lory D

Sounds Never Seen

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

After a handful of porcelain delicacies and the spurious reminiscence of Stakker reissues, Rephlex made a return to their roots in 2003 with Sounds Never Seen, the first in a barrage of releases intended as a didactic return to the dancefloor. While DJ Scud proffered square-pushing junglism and the Bug dropped deviant ragga from a who's who of now-incarcerated vocalists, Italy's Lory D set the tone with a veritable analog bubble bath which successfully conjured the spirit of the label's early catalog. From the opening "Deep From Colosseum" right through to the closing "Fludoiscki," the music scalds both ears and soul through an unrelenting barrage of thumping kick drums and squigglingly acidic lead lines which launch heated attacks on dirty electro rhythms before turning on themselves in an explosion of computer-generated chaos.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:37
2 3:21
3 4:18
4 3:39
5 5:08
6 4:17
8 5:14
blue highlight denotes track pick