Singles Box [12-CD]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Featuring 12 mini-CDs that feature three tracks each for the most part (one has four), the Japanese import box set Singles Box doesn't compile every single released by Queen in Japan, but rather variations on their hit singles. Each mini-CD comes in an individual case, and almost all of the writing is in Japanese. The 12 A-sides featured include early classics such as "Seven Seas of Rhye," "Killer Queen," and "Somebody to Love," as well as mid-career hits "Crazy Little Thing Called Love" and "Under Pressure," and latter-day favorites "Radio Ga Ga," "A Kind of Magic." Also included are the non-album B-sides "See What a Fool I've Been," "Soul Brother," "I Go Crazy," and "A Dozen Red Roses for My Darling" (others, such as "A Human Body," "Blurred Vision," and the single "Thank God It's Christmas," are not). While the packaging is quite attractive and the music is timeless, Singles Box is obviously an expensive release aimed at Queen's most ardent collectors. Since it doesn't contain every Japanese single, it's not a complete collection.