The Boswell Sisters

Shout, Sister, Shout!

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Boswell Sisters were one of the most important vocal groups in the early years of jazz, as heard in this collection of 21 songs recorded between 1925 and 1934. Connee Boswell, a strong lead singer and soloist, was frequently cited by the great Ella Fitzgerald as a major influence. Martha and Helvetia sing harmony along with her. The consistently swinging arrangements include supporting musicians the caliber of Tommy Dorsey, Jimmy Dorsey, Joe Venuti, Eddie Lang, Carl Kress, Bunny Berigan, and Dick McDonough to complement the singers. The delightful "When I Take My Sugar to Tea," the gospel-flavored "Shout, Sister, Shout," and the humorous "River, Stay 'Way from My Door" are all memorable. Both "There'll Be Some Changes Made" and "Hand Me Down My Walkin' Cane" detour into the blues with success. They work magic with two little-known compositions by Fats Waller, offering a sincere rendition of "If It Ain't Love" and the amusing "Old Yazoo." The Boswell Sisters also shine on two songs from the Broadway smash Forty Second Street, including the main theme and a snappy rendition of "Shuffle Off to Buffalo" that swings like mad. The sound restoration of these vintage discs is often remarkable. The only shortcoming of this excellent compilation is the omission of composer credits.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
2 2:53
3 3:11
4 2:56
5 3:14
6 3:01
10 3:12
11 2:59
12 2:48
13 3:06
14 2:40
15 2:39
16 2:58
17 2:31
18 3:13
19 3:05
20 2:50
21 3:08
blue highlight denotes track pick