David Arnold / Michael Price

Sherlock: Music from Series Three [Original Television Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Building on their work from the BBC detective show's two previous seasons, veteran composers David Arnold (James Bond) and Michael Price (Band of Brothers) offer up 23 more tracks of playful suspense on Sherlock: Music from Series Three. Employing a subtle blend of electro-infused themes, classically inclined mood pieces, and atmospheric piano backdrops, they've again found a way to complement the show's portrayal of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson in a modern, tech-savvy world with nods to both the character's and Britain's history. Working with a script that begins with Holmes' resurrection following Series Two's apparent suicide cliffhanger, there was plenty of tension and conspiratorial whimsy to inspire the new score, which introduces new thematic elements (Holmes' wedding gift composition "Waltz for John and Mary") while making well-placed references to the show's main running themes (the grandeur of "#SherlockLives" and the playfully techno "Stag Night"). Compelling on all fronts, the Sherlock series is a classy production and the musical score remains in good hands thanks to Arnold and Price.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Sherlock: The Empty Hearse
1 2:44
2 1:43
3 3:28
4 2:49
5 2:57
6 2:28
7 4:06
8 3:36
Sherlock: The Sign of Three
9 3:07
10 4:02
11 2:15
12 4:17
13 2:58
14 1:07
Sherlock: His Last Vow
15 3:33
16 4:42
17 2:10
The Sherlock: His Last Vow
18 3:14
Sherlock: His Last Vow
19 3:50
The Sherlock: His Last Vow
20 5:32
Sherlock: His Last Vow
21 3:38
The Sherlock: His Last Vow
22 4:00
Sherlock: His Last Vow
23 0:50
blue highlight denotes track pick