Shark Bait

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Magnet's third album Shark Bait was produced by David Lowery, and his sonic fingerprints cover this collection of quirky power pop songs. The band's penchant for jangly guitars, nasally raspy vocals, and enigmatic lyrics certainly suggest that Magnet and Lowery share a sonic heritage, but tracks like "Rope" and "Thanks for the Hand" sound uncomfortably like Cracker outtakes. However, the shiny opener "Drag," the sweet songwriting of "Emily," and the dreamy, droning "Rule Me" and "Over You" hint at Magnet's individual voice.

blue highlight denotes track pick