Various Artists

Sea Shanties: Leave Her Johnny

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Playasound’s Sea Shanties: Leave Her Johnny is a collection of 21st century performances of traditional songs played accordingly by a group of New Zealand vocalists known as Spirit of Adventure. Vocalists on this 18-song set include notable folk singers such as Gavin Asher, Greg Whitcombe, John Jones, John McGowan, Martin Blackman, and Rudy Sunde, who sing solo and as part of a chorus on these wonderful songs. While it’s true many of these tracks are centered on the region, there are also a number that are part of the standard repertoire, such as “Captain Matheson” and ”Nick Young.”Most of these tunes are a cappella, but there are a number of instrumentals such as “Trumpet Hornpipe” and the medley “Hornpipes: The Boys of Blue Hill/The Harvest Home,” and songs that feature accordion accompaniment such as “Drunken Sailor.” In sum, this is a fine modern collection of timeless songs.

blue highlight denotes track pick