Claire Désert / Anne Gastinel

Schubert: Arpeggione

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This isn't the first disc to couple a transcription of Schubert's Arpeggione Sonata for cello with transcriptions of Schubert's lieder for cello -- Mischa Maisky released a disc with a strikingly similar program a decade ago. But that's alright: it's still a great idea and while Maisky's disc was superb, so is this one by cellist Anne Gastinel. Maisky's technique may be more polished in Schubert's achingly beautiful Arpeggione Sonata, but Gastinel's technique is almost as strong and possibly more incisive. Maisky's tone may be warmer in Schubert's supremely lyrical lieder, but Gastinel's tone is nearly as warm and perhaps deeper. The biggest difference between the two discs is that Maisky's has 14 songs, while Gastinel's has only seven songs but adds a wonderfully poised transcription for cello of Schubert's D major Sonatine composed originally for violin. As accompanied by pianist Claire Désert, Gastinel's playing may not have Maisky's individualism, but she has the power and the passion and, for listeners who loved the idea of Maisky's disc, Gastinel's disc will be a welcome successor. Naïve's amazingly realistic sound places Gastinel about five feet away from the listener and slightly to the right.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Sonata for arpeggione & piano in A minor ("Arpeggione Sonata"), D. 821
1 11:50
2 04:29
3 09:08
4 03:53
5 02:06
Sonatina for violin & piano in D major, D. 384 (Op. posth. 137/1)
6 04:52
7 04:17
8 04:22
9 02:53
10 02:13
11 04:43
12 03:24
13 01:25
14 03:28
blue highlight denotes track pick