Rusty Waters

Rotating Assembly

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Put together by Theo Parrish, Rusty Waters is a variable collaborative group -- or Rotating Assembly, as indicated on the label -- that features, for this release, Maat Lo, Marcellus Pittman, Jerald James, Warren Harris, and Mellissa Botts. A two-track 12" with a reprise of the A-side on the B-side, it shows Parrish leaning toward a relatively traditional approach to house without completely forsaking his knack for the raw and abstract. The live elements -- including hand percussion, bass, and an introspective vocal turn -- provide a loose feel, especially when compared to Parrish's predominantly sample-based output. What makes this stick out in the Sound Signature catalog is that it sounds like a group of people recording together on a Sunday afternoon, as opposed to one man recording alone at 3 a.m. in his bedroom.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
blue highlight denotes track pick