Sandy Nelson

Rock 'n' Roll Drum Beat

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Rock'n'Roll Drum Beat contains 30 songs Nelson did for Imperial in the early 1960s taken from singles and LP tracks. One might logically assume from that that this should be a satisfactory best-of album, but hold on there -- although it does have one of his two big hit singles, "Let There Be Drums," it doesn't have the other one, "Teen Beat" (which was done for Original Sound), and any Nelson best-of collection that's worthy of the name must offer both of the two hits. For that matter, it doesn't even have his only other Top 40 single "Drums Are My Beat" (1962), which was recorded for Imperial. As for what is here, the material is routine, early-1960s, session-man rock, despite the presence of top session musicians like saxophonists Steve Douglas and Plas Johnson, pianist Ernie Freeman, and guitarist Rene Hall. There are a lot of dull covers of rock hits of the time, like "Willie and the Hand Jive," "All Shook Up," and "Yakety Yak." The rest sounds like musicians with good chops going through the motions to kill time between sessions with artists that had much more chart potential. A more important drawback is that Nelson rarely goes crazy on the kit, as he did on "Teen Beat" and "Let There Be Drums" (and later on the 1965 single "Casbah"). The style which helped inspire fledgling drummers (such as, in all probability, Keith Moon) is largely muted here, except of course on "Let There Be Drums" and to a lesser degree on "Alexis" and "The Flip."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:22 Amazon
2 02:09 Amazon
3 02:09 Amazon
4 02:24 Amazon
5 02:28 Amazon
6 02:22 Amazon
7 02:00 Amazon
8 02:04 Amazon
9 02:10 Amazon
10 02:31 Amazon
11 02:39 Amazon
03:13 Amazon
13 02:29 Amazon
14 02:42 Amazon
15 01:59 Amazon
16 02:18 Amazon
17 02:22 Amazon
18 02:21 Amazon
19 02:46 Amazon
02:08 Amazon
21 01:47 Amazon
22 01:58 Amazon
23 02:10 Amazon
24 02:08 Amazon
25 02:20 Amazon
26 02:52 Amazon
27 02:37 Amazon
02:06 Amazon
29 02:01 Amazon
30 02:19 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick