Tell Me About Tomorrow


(Digital Download - DTA Records / Elektra #)

Review by Matt Collar

On his full-length debut, 2021's rambunctiously hooky Tell Me About Tomorrow, singer Jaden Hossler (aka Jxdn) sounds like the punky, confident little brother of blink-182. The comparison makes sense as the album features blink-182 drummer Travis Barker who produced, co-wrote, and plays on all the tracks. Hossler even samples blink's 2003 song "Feeling This" to nice effect for his own "Wasted Year." Also emerging as a kind of big brother figure is Machine Gun Kelly, who lends his burnished emo-croon to the anthemic "Wanna Be." Hossler, a Tennessee native, sings with the kind of defiant nasal tone that marks some of the best punk-pop. It's a sound he excels at throughout Tell Me About Tomorrow as he details his issues with mental health, drugs, and relationships both good and bad. The latter-half of the album dips more toward the moody hip-hop and rap-influenced approach of artists like Blackbear and Juice WRLD, but the songs remain engaging. Underpinning all of Tell Me About Tomorrow is Barker's taut muscular drumming and adept production, lending both a credibility and slick studio-sheen to Jxdn's irresistible pop-punk songs.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Jxdn 00:10 SpotifyAmazon
2 Jxdn 02:27 SpotifyAmazon
3 Jxdn 03:25 SpotifyAmazon
4 Jxdn 02:38 SpotifyAmazon
5 Jxdn 02:37 SpotifyAmazon
6 Jxdn 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
Jxdn 00:16 SpotifyAmazon
8 Jxdn 02:43 SpotifyAmazon
9 Jxdn 02:48 SpotifyAmazon
10 Jxdn 02:15 SpotifyAmazon
11 Jxdn 02:50 SpotifyAmazon
12 Jxdn 02:21 SpotifyAmazon
13 Jxdn 01:52 SpotifyAmazon
14 Jxdn 02:35 SpotifyAmazon
Jxdn 02:23 SpotifyAmazon
16 Jxdn 03:01 SpotifyAmazon
17 Jxdn 03:25 SpotifyAmazon
18 Jxdn 03:23 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick