Charles Dutoit / Pascal Rogé

Ravel: Orchestral Works; Piano Concertos; L'Enfant et les Sortilèges; Shéhérazade

(CD - Decca #4756891)

Review by

For listeners who prefer their Ravel lushly textured, luminously colored, and luxuriantly impressionistic, this four-disc set of his orchestral music performed by Charles Dutoit and the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal will be just the thing. Recorded between 1981 and 1995 in warmly opulent Decca sound and including all the canonical works plus the two piano concerts and the opera L'Enfant et les sortiléges, Dutoit's approach to Ravel is decidedly sensual, even tactile. One can feel the excitement in the closing "Dance générale" of Daphnis et Chloé, sense the energy in La Valse, smell the sea in Une barque sur l'océan, and touch the dancer's flushed skin in Boléro. This is not to say that details are lost in Dutoit's performances -- with the superlative playing of the Montreal orchestra, one can assuredly hear everything in the scores. Nor is this to say that Dutoit neglects the music's clear shapes and lucid forms -- with a decisive beat and a clean technique, Dutoit's interpretations are models of clarity. But it is assuredly to assert that, for sheer aural beauty, these recordings cannot be beat. With the very virtuosic and very French playing of Pascal Rogé in the two piano concertos plus very characterful singing in L'Enfant, this set will be mandatory listening for all those who love Ravel.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Daphnis et Chloé, ballet for orchestra
1 08:15 Amazon
2 03:27 Amazon
3 01:54 Amazon
4 03:36 Amazon
5 04:01 Amazon
6 05:07
7 02:49 Amazon
8 04:24 Amazon
9 05:47 Amazon
10 06:08
11 06:58 Amazon
12 03:34 Amazon
13 06:41 Amazon
14 12:09 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick