Henry "Junjo" Lawes

Reggae Anthology: Henry "Junjo" Lawes-Volcano Eruption

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Reggae Anthology: Henry "Junjo" Lawes-Volcano Eruption Review

by Rick Anderson

Over the past several years, the brilliant 17 North Parade label (an imprint of VP Records) has been picking up where boutique reissue labels like Motion Records and the lamented Blood & Fire left off, documenting reggae music's classical period in the 1970s and the transition from roots to dancehall styles that took place during the 1980s. Producer Henry "Junjo" Lawes was one of several producers who helped to usher in that transition, guiding roots masters like Wayne Jarrett, the Wailing Souls, and the young Hugh Mundell into the new era while simultaneously fostering the careers of emerging dancehall artists like Cocoa Tea, Barrington Levy, and the exciting (but ultimately commercially doomed) teenage toaster Billy Boyo. This excellent two-disc set (one disc for singers, the other for DJs) offers an overview of some of the strongest material from Junjo's vault: stone classics like Barrington Levy's "Prison Oval Rock" and Yellowman's effortlessly propulsive "Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt" and "Zungguzungguguzungguzeng," Tony Tuff's brilliant "Come Fi Mash It" (on the "Three Blind Mice" rhythm), and the wonderful craziness of Eek-A-Mouse's "Anarexol." There are a few disappointments -- Junior Reid's singing is uncharacteristically weak on "Lover's Affair," and John Holt's rendition of the classic "Love I Can Feel" is curiously anemic -- but overall this is a fantastic introduction to one of reggae music's most fertile periods and greatest studio talents. [The package also includes a bonus DVD documentary.]

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Frankie Paul 03:35 Amazon
2 Barrington Levy 03:08 Amazon
3 Leroy Smart 03:21 Amazon
4 Michael Prophet 04:26 Amazon
5 John Holt 03:30 Amazon
6 Don Carlos 03:20 Amazon
7 Barry Brown 06:05 Amazon
8 Wayne Jarrett 04:14 Amazon
9 Junior Reid 03:25 Amazon
10 Hugh Mundell 03:05 Amazon
11 Johnny Osbourne 03:17 Amazon
12 Barrington Levy 03:17 Amazon
13 The Wailing Souls 04:10 Amazon
14 Tony Tuff 03:36 Amazon
15 Little John 04:52 Amazon
16 Frankie Paul 03:15 Amazon
17 John Holt 02:56 Amazon
18 Cocoa Tea 03:33 Amazon
19 Linval Thompson 03:07 Amazon
20 Al Campbell 06:46 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Ringo 04:20 Amazon
2 Nicodemus 03:05 Amazon
3 Yellowman 03:36 Amazon
4 Josey Wales 03:36 Amazon
5 Early B 03:36 Amazon
6 Eek-A-Mouse 05:33 Amazon
7 Clint Eastwood / General Saint 05:59 Amazon
8 Captain Sinbad 03:11 Amazon
9 Lee VanCliff 03:02 Amazon
10 Charlie Chaplin 03:24 Amazon
11 Ranking Trevor 04:39 Amazon
12 Eek-A-Mouse 03:53 Amazon
13 Clint Eastwood / General Saint 03:53 Amazon
14 Michigan / Smiley 03:35 Amazon
15 Toyan 03:19 Amazon
16 Josey Wales 03:00 Amazon
17 Yellowman 04:00 Amazon
18 Billy Boyo 04:48 Amazon
19 Sister Nancy 03:20 Amazon
20 Toyan 05:54 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
blue highlight denotes track pick