Céline Frisch

Rameau: Pièces de clavecin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Céline Frisch, the French harpsichordist who had previously turned in superlative recordings of Bach's Goldberg Variations and d'Anglebert's Pièces de clavecin, here delivers a sumptuous disc of Rameau's Pièces de clavecin. Of the three works on the program, one is the fairly traditional Suite in A minor from 1706 with its standard stylized dance forms, while the other two are the more mature Suite in E minor from 1724 and Suite in G minor from 1728 containing its more evocative pieces like Le Rappel des Oiseaux and Les Sauvages. But whatever the piece, Frisch brings a freshness, an originality, and a virtuosity that are positively bracing. There's color in her playing blended with wit and sensitivity, along with a sense of rhythm that carries all before it. Whether in the hearty Musette, the sublime L'Enharmonique, or even the silly Le Poule, Frisch finds the energy and affection that makes Rameau's music instantly appealing even for listeners who may not be fans of French Baroque harpsichord music. As previously, Alpha provides Frisch with sound that is the next best thing to being there.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Premier livre de pièces de clavecin, for harpsichord
1 03:41 Amazon
2 06:14 Amazon
3 01:54 Amazon
4 01:39 Amazon
5 02:18 Amazon
6 03:50 Amazon
7 01:13 Amazon
8 01:06 Amazon
9 01:11 Amazon
Pièces de clavecin, for harpsichord
10 04:47 Amazon
11 01:29 Amazon
12 03:40 Amazon
13 03:19 Amazon
14 02:14 Amazon
15 02:52 Amazon
16 01:11 Amazon
17 03:02 Amazon
Nouvelles suites de pièces de clavecin, for harpsichord
18 02:20 Amazon
19 01:02 Amazon
20 03:21 Amazon
21 05:48 Amazon
22 04:13 Amazon
23 02:17 Amazon
24 08:15 Amazon
25 03:45 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick