Various Artists

Push It! Classic Party & Dance Tracks

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Inspired by the Salt-N-Pepa song of the same name, Push It! Classic Party & Dance Tracks is a two-disc collection of old-skool R&B, dance, and pop tunes guaranteed to evoke pangs of nostalgia from anyone who grew up in the late '80s/early '90s. The first half of disc one concentrates on the hip-hop/dance crossover sound that predated the likes of Black Eyed Peas by a full two decades, such as Snap!'s anthemic "The Power," House of Pain's impossibly infectious "Jump Around," and 2 Unlimited's frenetic techno number one "No Limits." The Italo-house of Black Box's "Ride on Time" sets up the Europop-focused second half, with highlights including N-Trance's euphoric rave classic "Set You Free," Baby D's drum'n'bass breakthrough "Let Me Be Your Fantasy," and Livin' Joy's soulful floor-filler "Dreamer." The more eclectic second disc features funk (Cameo, Rick James), rock (Aerosmith vs. Run-D.M.C., Beastie Boys), and '80s synth pop (Mel & Kim, Yazz) with Touch & Go's brass-led "Would You," Deee-Lite's psychedelic dance tune "Groove Is in the Heart," and Adamski's innovative house chart-topper "Killer" providing the standouts. Listeners who weren't even born when the majority of the track list was released will still recognize several songs, as the likes of Vanilla Ice's "Ice Ice Baby," Adventures of Stevie V's "Dirty Cash," and Nightcrawlers' "Push the Feeling On" have all recently found their way back into the charts in one form or another. With the inclusions of MOR crooner Lionel Richie and Queen of Latin Pop Gloria Estefan, Push It! may be slightly more commercial than other recent old-skool retrospectives, but with its combination of guilty pleasures and classic tracks, it's undoubtedly one of the most feel-good compilation albums of 2010.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:32
2 4:10
3 3:20
4 3:42
5 4:17
6 4:07
7 3:24
8 4:03
10 3:37
11 3:56
12 3:59
13 4:28
14 3:39
15 3:28
16 4:20
17 4:11
18 4:19
19 3:52
20 4:28
blue highlight denotes track pick