Hello Defective

Plastic Hearts

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Vocalist Kirby and guitarist/organist Armitage lead the way on Plastic Hearts, the four-song debut by England's Hello Defective. Drummer Kent and bassist Robert round out the first-name-friendly lineup and more than capably hold down the rhythm section on the disc. "Getting Started With Stereo" starts it off with quirky instrumentation and Kirby's offbeat, Wayne Coyne-like vocals. The title track is next, with more rousing tones and an overall jolly mood. The steady groove on "This One Is Mine" is followed by the disc-closer, the experimental "Brave Birds." Guest musicians Emigleo Van Zanex, Sean Dressler, and David Hoffner add the final musical touches. Produced by the band and co-producer Trent Bell, the disc was recorded in England, New Mexico, and Oklahoma, and was released by Element 115 Recordings in late 2002. The band's debut full-length, Kill Us Now, was unveiled soon after.

blue highlight denotes track pick