Pistol Packin' Mama/Spin of the Wheel

Hoyt Axton

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Pistol Packin' Mama/Spin of the Wheel Review

by Greg Adams

This import CD is a reissue of Hoyt Axton's third and fourth studio albums released on his own Jeremiah label. Pistol Packin' Mama, from 1982, is dominated by remakes of well-known songs like the title track, "I Walk the Line," and "Don't Fence Me In." Axton's songwriting contribution is at an all-time low, and one of the few new originals is the annoying "Fearless the Wonder Dog," the melody of which is based on the "Casper the Friendly Ghost" cartoon theme song. Spin of the Wheel from 1990, Axton's final album, refocuses on his own songs, some of which are fine additions to his canon. "We Could've Been Sweethearts," in particular, is as good as anything he did during his mid-'70s peak. Overall these are Axton's weakest albums since the '60s, but fans will find several diamonds in the rough.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Hoyt Axton 02:09 SpotifyAmazon
2 Hoyt Axton 02:44 SpotifyAmazon
3 Hoyt Axton 02:59 SpotifyAmazon
4 Hoyt Axton 02:52 SpotifyAmazon
5 Hoyt Axton 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
6 Hoyt Axton 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
7 Hoyt Axton 03:29 SpotifyAmazon
8 Hoyt Axton 02:10 SpotifyAmazon
9 Hoyt Axton 03:34 SpotifyAmazon
10 Hoyt Axton 01:55 SpotifyAmazon
11 Hoyt Axton 02:53 SpotifyAmazon
12 Hoyt Axton 02:19 SpotifyAmazon
13 Hoyt Axton 02:46 SpotifyAmazon
14 Hoyt Axton 01:58 SpotifyAmazon
15 Hoyt Axton 02:49 SpotifyAmazon
16 Hoyt Axton 03:55 SpotifyAmazon
17 Hoyt Axton 03:20 SpotifyAmazon
18 Hoyt Axton 03:34 SpotifyAmazon
19 Hoyt Axton 03:32 SpotifyAmazon
20 Hoyt Axton 03:12 SpotifyAmazon
21 Hoyt Axton 03:18 SpotifyAmazon
22 Hoyt Axton 05:25 SpotifyAmazon
23 Hoyt Axton 04:26 SpotifyAmazon
24 Hoyt Axton 01:15 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick