Vincenzo Mazzone

Ping Pong

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is actually three recordings in one: the first, taking up almost half the album, is a composition for nine percussionists, musically describing the creation of the planets and of human life. The piece is divided into ten short parts (most less than two minutes) in which the musicians, led by Mazzone, produce varying colors and shades. Reminiscent of a somewhat similar less-than-compelling effort for big band by George Russell, Mazzone's effort is a serious attempt to utilize a limited palette for a glorious concept. The second part of the CD is a two-part suite in which trumpeter Pino Minafra's seven piece "Sud Ensemble" is added. The extended, exhilarating solos by Minafra, trombonist Lauro Rossi, and either Carlo Actis Dato or Sandro Satta on saxophone are highlights. The album closes with four short solo numbers (two of which are under two minutes), including a piece in 12/4 dedicated to Max Roach. While there are special moments throughout, much of this recording is likely to appeal almost entirely to those particularly attracted to extended works for solo and group percussion.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:21
2 4:42 SpotifyAmazon
3 1:37 SpotifyAmazon
4 1:13 SpotifyAmazon
5 0:35 SpotifyAmazon
6 0:58 SpotifyAmazon
7 1:26 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:11 SpotifyAmazon
9 5:39 SpotifyAmazon
10 1:16 SpotifyAmazon
11 1:15 SpotifyAmazon
12 14:33 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:44 SpotifyAmazon
14 1:48 SpotifyAmazon
15 1:39 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick