Morton Feldman

Pieces for More Than Two Pianos

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Sublime, slowly evolving piano textures, sensitively performed by Le Bureau des Pianistes make up this piece, which contains the new music classic "Four Pianos." In this ground-breaking composition, all four pianists read from the same pages of music material, but they play at their own internal speed. The amplitude level, like most of Feldman's pieces is as quiet as possible in order that small events and the fullness of the harmonics of each struck tone or aggregate (chord) may be heard. Gradually a landscape of delays is created, spreading away from an initial single sound source, an horizontal rather than vertical evolution. The effect is that of sublime, slowly changing chordal textures. This use of phase-modulation in music is another approach than that used by the pattern or "minimalist" composers (Reich, Glass, Riley).