Pietro Massa

Piano Rarities: Luigi Dallapiccola

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Capriccio's Pianorarities: Luigi Dallapiccola is a survey of Dallapiccola's earlier acknowledged works that runs from his final music in a neo-classic style through to his earlier serial compositions. It does feature at least one relatively rare Dallapiccola composition; his Piccolo Concerto per Muriel Couvreux par Pianoforte e Orchestra da Camera (1938-1941), a neo-classical work dating from a period when Dallapiccola was living under fascism and hating it; it has only been recorded once before. It is a sparkling, brightly colored piano (not a piccolo, rather a "little") concerto and a near masterpiece as far as late European neo-classicism is concerned. The Piccolo Concerto is played with dedication and some measure of flair by pianist Pietro Massa with the support of Peter Hirsch and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin. Apart from the Due Pezzi per Orchestra (1948) -- which is played by Hirsch and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin alone and concludes the program -- the other selections are not particularly rare, especially the Quaderna musicale di Annalibera (1952), probably the most frequently recorded keyboard piece of Dallapiccola. The recording quality is a little inconsistent; the extremes of volume in Quaderna musicale di Annalibera are not well bridged, and one might find themselves jockeying the volume knob a bit. There is a similar disjunction of volume found between the quiet and loud movements of the Due Pezzi; the "Fanfara e Fuga" will make one jump after the calm, reflective "Sarabanda." Overall, it is unusual to see so many relatively early Dallapiccola pieces on a single disc; nothing here post-dates 1952. Capriccio's Pianorarities: Luigi Dallapiccola may prove more palatable to listeners who have a hard time getting a grip on his later bill of fare, and the already converted will likely be awestruck by the Piccolo Concerto.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Piccolo Concerto per Muriel Couvreux per Pianoforte e Orchestra da Camera
1 2:54
2 2:17
3 4:18
4 3:00
5 4:56
6 3:02
Sonatina canonica in mi bemolle maggiore su Capricci di Niccolò Paganini
7 4:14
8 2:08
9 2:33
10 2:25
Tre Episodi dal Balletto Marsia
11 4:51
12 3:40
13 5:46
Quaderno musicale di Annalibera
14 3:37
15 0:28
16 1:26
17 0:56
18 0:33
19 1:27
20 1:28
21 1:14
22 1:38
23 2:32
24 2:30
Due Pezzi per Orchestra
25 6:01
26 4:20
blue highlight denotes track pick