Peek Meter EP

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Triangle's second homemade EP in as many years, Peek Meter is another four-song set of their trademark synth pop. While occasionally groovier than its predecessor, the disc is nevertheless a solid addition to the band's fledgling catalog. As on their self-titled debut, Brian Tester's guitar jangle and Amanda Warner's lovely vocal quaver and melodic bass float over a foundation of spare electronic beats. The band does get a little bit creepy with the dark synth and electric piano of "Two Claps," but the pop is still here in spades in the chorus of "Political Song" and on the EP's standout track, "Mercury." One of the best syntheses of Triangle's seemingly disparate musical components, "Mercury" immediately grabs attention with it's aquatic-sounding guitar and propulsive, low-range synth line. Triangle's future-wave pop songs always seem to be peering around the corner to see what's up ahead -- avant-garde pop music in the truest sense of the term.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:36
2 4:21
3 3:36
4 3:56
blue highlight denotes track pick