John Coltrane

Other Village Vanguard Tapes

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This double LP augments the original Live at the Village Vanguard album with six more performances taken from John Coltrane's famous Nov. 1961 engagement. In addition to Coltrane on soprano and tenor, pianist McCoy Tyner and drummer Elvin Jones, the participants include both bassist Reggie Workman and his eventual replacement, Jimmy Garrison, and (for atmosphere) veteran Garvin Bushell on oboe and contrabassoon on two numbers and Ahmed Abdul-Malik added on oud for one. The music is comprised of "India," "Greensleeves," "Chasin' the Trane," two versions of "Spiritual" and a lengthy "Untitled Original." Throughout this two-fer the music is passionate, often intense and innovative with Coltrane reducing the number of chords down to a minimum in favor of drones and vamps.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 9:53
2 12:35
3 18:36

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 15:25
2 6:18
3 20:31
blue highlight denotes track pick