• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

While there are several features to this record, the main electronica and hip-hop backbeats make it an enjoyable listen in the same manner as St. Germain and even the space rock or highbrow rock instrumentals of Pink Floyd. The running waters and waves and sounds of birds in the middle of the opening "Skyblue" evolve into a more somber, almost hymnal tone. But the song is also bookended by some ambient trip-hop beats as vocalist Jacqueline Kersley adds textures. "Yu" is a bit of a disappointment, though, as it's far too deliberate and resembles a Kitaro offering. There is a change in mood, albeit a subtle one, in "Daisy." This song is more of a guitar-based arrangement behind some tickling of the keyboards and horns in an acid jazz style. Barren of the blips and samples often used for effects, the musician permits each sound to play an important part in the overall feeling. "Cyandragonfly," the longest track at more than 13 minutes, doesn't seem to be the vital cornerstone it needs to be, acting more like Muzak than an intelligent piece. One of the better tracks is "Bhakti," a mix of ambient layerings with some percussion propelling the song forward, breaking the natural monotony. The main problem with the album, though, is that the tempo rarely varies.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 11:46 Amazon
9:38 Amazon
3 7:45
4 8:39 Amazon
5 13:27 Amazon
6 10:18 Amazon
7:22 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick