Cliff Martinez

Only God Forgives [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Though Cliff Martinez was already an established film composer thanks to works like his scores to Steven Soderbergh's sex, lies, and videotape and Traffic, his music for Nicholas Winding Refn's 2011 hit Drive earned him a new level of recognition. He reteams with Refn for 2013's Only God Forgives, a tale of corruption, sexual deviance, and familial intrigue set in Thailand. Just as Martinez depicted a nihilistic Los Angeles with his Drive score, here he incorporates pan-Asian sounds to create a world that is equally dreamy, sleazy, and menacing, particularly on the percussion showcase "Ask Him Why He Killed My Brother" and the deceptively alluring pop of Vithaya Pansringarm's "Can't Forget" and Rhatha Phongam's "Falling in Love." Elsewhere, Martinez conjures very different but equally oppressive forms of claustrophobic dread on "Do as Thou Will," which buzzes and simmers with Bernard Herrmann-esque strings, and "Wanna Fight," where synth arpeggios and a blaring pipe organ carry an almost apocalyptic weight. Martinez's music for this movie might not be as iconic as his Drive score, but Only God Forgives still finds him at the peak of his powers.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 00:46 Amazon
2 02:11 Amazon
3 02:23 Amazon
4 03:46 Amazon
5 02:14 Amazon
feat: Mac Quayle
03:30 Amazon
7 01:57 Amazon
8 02:45 Amazon
9 03:09 Amazon
feat: Mac Quayle
02:41 Amazon
11 04:50 Amazon
12 03:29 Amazon
13 04:05 Amazon
14 08:01 Amazon
feat: Mac Quayle
03:04 Amazon
16 04:50 Amazon
feat: Proud
03:34 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick