Dick Haymes

On the Air, Vol. 5

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is number five in the series of the Dick Haymes Society's project to compile and release Haymes' radio transcriptions. Covering the years 1945 to 1947, most of the cuts on this CD come from his "Auto Lite" shows of this period. Other cuts are from the "Personal Album" series transcribed for the Army and Air Force Radio Service. The "Auto Lite" show was done before a live audience and featured the orchestra and arrangements of Gordon Jenkins. Songstress Helen Forrest, Haymes' favorite singing partner, has one solo cut and two duets with Haymes; regrettably, each of the tunes are quite forgettable. The singing group 4 Hits & a Miss provide background for Haymes on "Ole Buttermilk Sky" and "In the Middle of May." All of the material on this disc was familiar to the listening public of the day and many tunes are well-thumbed pages in the Great American Songbook. There are also some dreary musical odds and ends here as well, but the good stuff is dominant. Haymes delivers everything, the good and the bad, with style and class. The album offers a good balance between uptempo, novelty material and those lovely romantic ballads that seem to be written just for Haymes' melodic baritone. Tunes like "I Can't Begin to Tell You," "I Could Write a Book," "More Than You Know," and, particularly, "No Greater Love" are among the entrees that make up the banquet of songs served up by this 78-minute long CD. Haymes' way with romantic lyrics carried him to the highest echelons of popularity rivaling those two other crooners of note, Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby. Perhaps one of the strongest testimonials to his continuing popularity is that 2000 is the Dick Haymes Society's 26th year of operation.

For Dick Haymes fans, this is a welcome addition to his discography. For those who are not absolute "I have to have everything" Haymes devotees, On the Air, Vol. 5 provides a good cross section of Haymes' work during some of his most productive years.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
2 2:01
3 1:46
4 1:59
5 3:05
6 2:36
7 1:44
8 2:14
9 1:56
10 1:27
11 2:33
12 2:30
13 2:13
14 1:45
15 3:10
16 2:52
18 2:39
19 2:11
20 1:48
21 1:59
22 1:09
23 3:38
24 1:44
25 1:28
26 2:33
27 2:06
28 1:34
29 1:20
30 1:59
31 6:23
blue highlight denotes track pick