Various Artists

Now, Vol. 17 [Portugal]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The U.K.'s Now series features timely selections of pop hits and provides a convenient way for casual pop fans to stay on top of the most popular singles. The sets are almost always naturally well-rounded, encompassing dance music, R&B, hip-hop, teen pop, and rock. And though they might expire, in a sense, since they're based on trends in pop music, they work as more than adequate snapshots of specific points in time. The 17th volume, released in 1990, includes Beats International's "Dub Be Good to Me," Candy Flip's "Strawberry Fields Forever," Happy Mondays' "He's Gonna Step on You Again," Primal Scream's "Loaded," Depeche Mode's "Enjoy the Silence," and the House of Love's "Shine On."

blue highlight denotes track pick