Various Artists

Now That's What I Call Music 10 [UK]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The U.K.'s Now series features timely selections of pop hits and provides a convenient way for casual pop fans to stay on top of the most popular singles. The sets are almost always naturally well-rounded, encompassing dance music, R&B, hip-hop, teen pop, and rock. And though they might expire, in a sense, since they're based on trends in pop music, they work as more than adequate snapshots of specific points in time. The tenth volume, released in 1987, includes M/A/R/R/S' "Pump Up the Volume," Heart's "Alone," ABC's "When Smokey Sings," the Pogues' "Fairytale of New York," Jan Hammer's "Crockett's Theme," Johnny Hates Jazz's "I Don't Want to Be a Hero," Bananarama's "Love in the First Degree," and Los Lobos' "La Bamba."