The Lounge-O-Leers

Now That's What I Call the Lounge-O-Leers Two

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The terrible, but imaginative and highly talented duo of Ricky Ritzel and Aaron "Hot Rod" Morishita continue their nose-thumbing, irreverent, politically incorrect exposés of most all types of pop music and many of those who perform it. For those from an earlier generation, their irreverence may recall the efforts of the king of the genre, Spike Jones. Jones spoofed pop music of his day and thus had much better material to work with, making the task of the Lounge-O-Leers even more daunting. But they meet the challenge and then some. Their takeoff on Eminem's "The Real Slim Shady" is worth the price of the CD alone. Others who get the attention of the Lounge-O-Leers include Madonna ("Music"), Sade ("Smooth Operator"), reggae star Shaggy ("It Wasn't Me"), and even the Supremes ("Stop in the Name of Love") and Nancy Sinatra ("You Only Live Twice"). While these two are having a lot of fun with this music, it's not an amateur night with the contestants covering the latest pop rages. These guys are fine musicians in their own right. It's quite amazing that so much music comes from two performers. But with the use of keyboards and other devices, they get a lot for a little. While they may be having some fun with these tunes, their interpretations, not necessarily what listeners are used to hearing, are perfectly legitimate and could stand on their own. As they race through the lyrics, it's clear that their energy is inexhaustible. Their medleys (really mergers) also bring together strange pairings, such as TLC's "No Scrubs" with the theme from The Pink Panther and Destiny's Child's "Survivor" with the classic "The Girl From Ipanema." There's entertaining fun all around on the latest from the duo of Ritzel and Morishita.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:12
2 4:54
3 4:12
4 3:49
5 4:19
6 5:33
7 3:33
Bono / U2
9 4:48
10 3:45
11 5:01
12 3:10
13 4:02
14 3:59
15 6:55
blue highlight denotes track pick