Various Artists

Notes from Thee Real Underground, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Notes From thee Real Underground collects three discs' worth of industrial, goth, darkwave and dream pop, including tracks like Louie Fontaine's salacious "Evil Force in My Pants," Vodka9's sensuous and spooky "I Kiss a Killer," Strand's abrasive "Cleanse" and D.A. Sebastian's gloomy "Isabella Rossellini." The collection's only problem is that it tries to cover too much musical ground -- even over the course of three discs, the change from harsh tracks like Krell's "Black Death Wish" to gentler songs like Caligari's "Grinfucker" or Flowers & Machines' "Sail Away" is still jolting. Still, the tracks -- all 52 of them -- are interesting enough that it seems unfair to complain that Notes From thee Real Underground offers too many choices.

blue highlight denotes track pick