Nota Bene

Nota Bene plays Mozart, Schnittke, Kardeis & Ravel

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A truly unusual release, the eponymous Nota Bene debut borders on the brilliant, fully capturing the listener's fancy, and playing tricks of alchemy with the endless stream of capsulized stylistic impressions that are heard herein. This talented French duo is comprised of Sylvain Nardelli on keyboards and Georges Bodossian playing guitars, with significant programming and special effects by both at every turn. The opening and title piece begins in a lyrical and enticing vein, when rhythms suddenly surface from all sides, flush with spicy acoustic guitar which lingers and disappears as suddenly as it came. Keyboards then revisit and reshape the ever-present melody, only to find the guitars re-enter with a whole new twist. The tempo slows reflectively and stretches farther out, on "Purusha," building once again on "Ehecatl" to crescendos that can only recall Pink Floyd, right down to the haunting monotone wordless vocals and fluid guitar leads. Four of the pieces are around ten minutes long, each offering its own adventure in excellence, building and rebuilding continuously as Nota Bene discover ingenious ways of connecting sinewy percussion eruptions and slightly menacing vocal theatrics to adventuresome musical hybrids, with rock, space, progressive and psychedelic elements. Suitably strange in parts, Nota Bene runs the gamut from mind-bending to happy feet, leaving you with the catchy chorus of "Be Well..., Be Well..., Be Well...."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 08:04
2 09:10
3 10:45
4 10:05
5 06:48
6 04:04
blue highlight denotes track pick