The Moments

Not on the Outside, But on the Inside, Strong!

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

An asterisk should be placed on the Moments' first LP release for Stang Records, as the label was seeking to capitalize on the success of "Not on the Outside." Billy Brown, Al Goodman, and Johnny Morgan are pictured on the cover as the Moments, and this trio does perform the bulk of the tunes, but the guys who sang on "Not on the Outside" and "Understanding" were a completely different group. For years, many thought Billy Brown led the song; Mark Greene, a Baltimorean, actually sang lead, accompanied by Johnny Moore and Richie Horsely, the original Moments. Some swear there were four members on the recording. However, when released, only three members were around, and two of them -- Horsely and Greene -- were fired as the song ran up the R&B chart, stopping at number 13; it reached the 57th position on the pop chart. The original Moments only did one gig, a week-long Apollo Theater engagement. Johnny Morgan leads on "Understanding," a rather dull song, and Al Goodman fronts "Pocketful of Heartbreak" -- better, but still nondescript. Billy Brown handles the rest and shines on "Sunday" and "I'm So Lost," two ballads done in Brown's innocent-sounding falsetto. Brown displays restrained emotion on the supercharged ballad "Somebody Loves You Baby"; one of their most underrated recordings which was released as the B-side of "Sunday." "I Won't Do Anything," pretty but lame, was covered by labelmate Lezlie Valentine. And what became their biggest recording wasn't released immediately. Listening to "Love on a Two Way Street" critically, it's understandable as to why Sylvia held it back and viewed it as an album cut. It sounds incomplete, with an off-key clanging guitar note played during the song becoming irritating after repeated plays.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:25 Amazon
2 02:23 Amazon
3 02:38 Amazon
4 03:05 Amazon
5 03:00 Amazon
6 03:37 Amazon
7 03:47 Amazon
8 02:47 Amazon
9 02:16 Amazon
10 02:19 Amazon
11 03:52 Amazon
12 03:14 Amazon
13 03:10 Amazon
14 04:50 Amazon
15 03:11 Amazon
16 04:05 Amazon
17 04:08 Amazon
18 03:08 Amazon
19 03:40 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick