Red Norvo


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Originally released on the obscure Rave label and later reissued by V.S.O.P. on this LP, this enjoyable set from vibraphonist Red Norvo features his 1957 quintet: Bob Drasnin on flute and alto, guitarist Jim Wyble, bassist Buddy Clark and drummer Bill Douglass. The music is essentially cool-toned bop that swings hard but lightly; an excellent setting for Norvo's vibes. In addition to two of Red's originals ("Spiders' Web" and "Scorpion's Nest"), the band performs six superior (if somewhat overplayed) standards. The results make one wonder why Jimmy Wyble and Bob Drasnin never became much better known.