Northwest Battle of the Bands, Vol. 1

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Northwest Battle of the Bands, Vol. 1 Review

by Richie Unterberger

All 30 of these mid-'60s tracks (six previously unissued) are drawn from the vaults of Jerry Dennon, producer, and the man behind Jerden Records and its subsidiaries. The Sonics are the only name here that might instantly click for most browsers (and even they were pretty unknown outside of the Northwest in the 1960s, prior to their retroactive emergence as a cult band starting in the late '70s). The Northwest garage sound is frequently overrated, but this well-selected anthology does much to highlight the best aspects of the mini-style. Indeed it's the best compilation of the sort that does not include the few well-known tracks to emerge from the region during the era. It does unavoidably emphasize what compiler Alec Palao rightly terms the "pounders," but it selects some of the very best of the R&B-frat-British Invasion "pounders," like the Raymarks' "Louise," the Juveniles' "I've Searched," and the Sonics' "You've Got Your Head on Backwards." Some welcome diversity is on hand via several slower-tempo organ-based mid-tempo tunes, with the Live Five's "Yes You're Mine" and Mr. Lucky & the Gamblers' "I Told You Once Before" specifically emulating the Zombies. Future Buffalo Springfield drummer Dewey Martin turns up as lead vocalist on Sir Raleigh & the Cupons' fine 1964 recording of "Tomorrow Is Another Day," more familiar as done by the Monkees. Several of these groups, and indeed a half-dozen of the exact same tracks, show up on Sundazed's Knock You Flat! The Northwest Battle of the Bands, Vol. 2, but although that disc is respectable, this collection has the edge in quality.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Sonics 02:46 Amazon
2 Sir Raleigh & the Coupons 02:49 Amazon
3 Don & the Goodtimes 02:54 Amazon
4 The Express 02:49 Amazon
The Raymarks 02:07 Amazon
Trolley 02:00 Amazon
7 The Juveniles 02:28 Amazon
8 The Dimensions 02:02 Amazon
9 Tyme's Children 02:09 Amazon
Little John & The Monks 02:17 Amazon
11 The Counts 02:45 Amazon
12 The Heirs 02:26 Amazon
13 Mercy Boys 03:01 Amazon
Mr. Lucky & the Gamblers 02:22 Amazon
15 Brave New World 03:19 Amazon
16 The Scotsmen 02:00 Amazon
17 Tom Thumb & The Casuals 02:49 Amazon
The Sonics 02:04 Amazon
19 The Bandits 02:25 Amazon
The Liberty Party 03:29 Amazon
21 The Bards 02:33 Amazon
22 Live Five 02:34 Amazon
23 The Rock-N-Souls 02:22 Amazon
24 Don & the Goodtimes 02:46 Amazon
25 The New Yorkers 02:36 Amazon
26 The Dynamics 02:38 Amazon
27 The City Lights 02:33 Amazon
28 George Washington & The Cherry Stompers 03:36 Amazon
Emergency Exit 02:48 Amazon
30 Live Five 02:34 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick