The Arrogants

Nobody's Cool

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On the follow-up to 2000's Your Simple Beauty, California's the Arrogants immediately show off their newfound love for upbeat pop on the opening track, the infectious and synthesizer-rich "The Distance Between Us." While their debut disc was mostly comprised of simple, somber, and slowed-down ballads, Nobody's Cool finds the band experimenting with different moods and tones throughout the seven-track mini-album. The second track, "Another Cold Morning," finds vocalist Jana Heller again crooning softly over modest and tranquil instrumentation. Jeffrey McFerson's electronics lead the way on "The Moment's Gone," a song which could easily be mistaken for one of the Brittle Stars' lush lullabies. The band picks up the pace again on "Feels Like Falling in Love," a steady toe-tapper led by Jayd McFerson's guitars and Jose Sanchez's steady drum work. Jon McFerson's bass serves as the backbone to the band's songs throughout. The disc's listed tracks end with "Words Apart," a tender track highlighted by more precise drum work by Sanchez. Two startlingly simple, yet catchy, bonus tracks (including the title track, "Nobody's Cool") brings the disc to a blissful end. With Nobody's Cool, the Arrogants once again turned heads throughout the indie pop community with their brilliantly simple and powerful musical epics.

blue highlight denotes track pick